Introduction: Butterfly Lovers Concert

TCO’s 26th annual concert once again forges new paths by exploring how different cultures and art forms combine in a stunning audio-visual experience:

As one of those rare compositions that has bridged cultures, the Butterfly Lovers Erhu Concerto by Zhanhao He and Gang Chen tells the tragedy of two lovers whose spirits are finally united in death as a pair of butterflies. The talented Mr. Lim Teik Chuan will perform this classic work.

TCO’s new Composer-in-Residence is the award-winning Jon Lin Chua; her new composition, Princess Miao Shan combines both Asian heritage and Western influences.

TCO’s own internationally-acclaimed guzheng soloist, Lina Cao, performs Jianmin Wang’s Night Mooring by Maple Bridge Concerto, which is based on an ancient poem written by Zhang Ji.

Madam Su Ro tells the gripping Korean folk tale of a woman who was kidnapped by a sea dragon. This powerful work, composed by Dr. Cecilia Heejeong Kim, combines Chinese orchestra with 3 Korean drums, sound and visual effects to heighten the drama of her kidnapping and subsequent reappearance.

Our Honorary Artistic Director Dr. Chih-Sheng Chen returns to lead TCO in presenting this exciting program.

This is our most ambitious concert yet, with guest artists joining us from Korea, China, Singapore, and Taiwan. We are very excited to bring this magical program of music that brings legends and poetry to life. In the coming weeks, we will introduce the stories behind the compositions and our talented artists to you. Please help us share to reach a new audience!

Date: June 9, 2019
Venue: Markham Peoples Community Church Auditorium, 22 Esna Park Dr., Markham, ON.
Pre-concert Talk: 7:00pm
Concert: 7:30pm
Tickets: $25 (general admission)/$20 (students/children)

Sponsorship (Corporate/Individual) opportunities are still available! Please contact for more information. Your support will help us continue to bring the beauty and vitality of Chinese orchestral music to Canadians and the next generation.